The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of Virginia
   
 
  Nov 20, 2017
 
 
    
Graduate Record 2008-2009 [ARCHIVED RECORD]

Academic Calendar


Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2008

Orientation Begins   Saturday, August 23-Monday, August 25
Final Registration   Monday, August 18-Friday, August 29
Courses Begin   Tuesday, August 26
Add/Drop/Withdrawal   Vary by School
Reading Days   Saturday, October 11-Tuesday, October 14
Fall Convocation   Friday October 24
Family Weekend   Friday, October 24-Sunday, October 26
Thanksgiving Recess   Wedneday, November 26-Sunday, November 30
Courses End   Friday, December 5
Reading Day   Sunday, December 7
Examinations   Monday, December 8-Tuesday, December 16
Reading Days   Thursday, December 11; Sunday, December 14
Fall degrees conferred   Friday, December 30 (no ceremony)
     

January Term 2009

Courses Begin   Friday, January 2
    (Classes January 2-3; and January 5-10)
Courses End   Saturday, January 10
     

Spring Semester 2009

Final Registration   Wednesday, January 7-Friday, January 16
Courses Begin   Tuesday, January 13
Courses Suspended   Monday, January 19, Martin Luther King Day
    (Special University activities to be proposed)
Add/Drop/Withdrawal   Vary by School
Spring Recess   Saturday, February 28-Sunday, March 8
Courses End   Tuesday, April 28
Reading Day   Wednesday, April 29
Examinations   Thursday, April 30-Friday, May 8
Reading Days   Sunday, May 3; Wednesday, May 6
Final Exercises   Sunday, May 17

Note: The Darden Graduate School of Business Administration, the School of Law, and the School of Medicine operate on different academic calendars. Contact those schools for details.